1953-1954 Kentucky Basketball Statistics

Record: 25-0 (14-0, 1st in SEC)
Rank: 1st in the Final AP Poll
Coach: Adolph Rupp

  G MP FG FGA FG% FT FTA FT% TRB AST STL BLK TOV PF PTS
Team 25   33.2 86.5 .383 21.2 31.2 .678 52.7         23.3 87.5
Opponent 25   19.2 63.0 .306 21.8 34.9 .626 34.0         20.0 60.3
  G MP FG FGA FG% FT FTA FT% TRB AST STL BLK TOV PF PTS
Team 25   829 2162 .383 529 780 .678 1318         582 2187
Opponent 25   481 1574 .306 546 872 .626 851         500 1508

 

Individual – Per Game

Rk Player G GS MP FG FGA FG% FT FTA FT% TRB AST STL BLK TOV PF PTS
1 Cliff Hagan 25     9.4 20.6 .455 5.3 7.6 .691 13.5         3.2 24.0
2 Frank Ramsey 25     7.2 17.2 .416 5.3 7.2 .729 8.8         3.3 19.6
3 Lou Tsioropoulos 25     5.5 15.6 .351 3.6 5.2 .690 9.6         3.6 14.5
4 Bill Evans 25     3.4 9.2 .372 2.0 2.5 .778 7.2         2.6 8.8
5 Gayle Rose 23     2.4 7.0 .346 1.8 2.8 .646 1.3         2.9 6.7
6 Phil Grawemeyer 25     2.6 6.9 .372 0.8 1.4 .543 6.1         2.5 5.9
7 24     1.8 6.2 .295 1.5 2.2 .673 2.2         2.2 5.1
8 Jerry Bird 4     1.0 4.3 .235 1.5 2.0 .750 3.0         2.5 3.5
9 Bill Bibb 16     0.6 2.0 .313 0.4 0.8 .583 1.6         0.8 1.7
10 Hugh Coy 10     0.4 1.4 .286 0.6 1.0 .600 1.1         2.0 1.4
11 Willie Rouse 5     0.4 1.8 .222 0.4 0.8 .500 0.2         1.0 1.2
12 Dan Chandler 7     0.3 0.7 .400 0.4 0.4 1.000 0.0         1.0 1.0
13 Jess Curry 9     0.2 1.9 .118 0.4 0.9 .500 0.4         0.9 0.9
14 Harold Hurst 7     0.3 1.3 .222 0.3 1.7 .167 2.7         0.6 0.9
15 Clay Evans 7     0.3 0.7 .400 0.0 0.6 .000 0.3         1.0 0.6
16 Pete Grigsby 3     0.0 0.7 .000 0.3 0.7 .500 0.7         0.0 0.3

 

Individual – Totals

Rk Player G GS MP FG FGA FG% FT FTA FT% TRB AST STL BLK TOV PF PTS
1 Cliff Hagan 25     234 514 .455 132 191 .691 338         80 600
2 Frank Ramsey 25     179 430 .416 132 181 .729 221         83 490
3 Lou Tsioropoulos 25     137 390 .351 89 129 .690 240         90 363
4 Bill Evans 25     86 231 .372 49 63 .778 180         65 221
5 Gayle Rose 23     56 162 .346 42 65 .646 31         67 154
6 Phil Grawemeyer 25     64 172 .372 19 35 .543 152         63 147
7 24     44 149 .295 35 52 .673 53         52 123
8 Bill Bibb 16     10 32 .313 7 12 .583 25         13 27
9 Jerry Bird 4     4 17 .235 6 8 .750 12         10 14
10 Hugh Coy 10     4 14 .286 6 10 .600 11         20 14
11 Jess Curry 9     2 17 .118 4 8 .500 4         8 8
12 Dan Chandler 7     2 5 .400 3 3 1.000 0         7 7
13 Harold Hurst 7     2 9 .222 2 12 .167 19         4 6
14 Willie Rouse 5     2 9 .222 2 4 .500 1         5 6
15 Clay Evans 7     2 5 .400 0 4 .000 2         7 4
16 Pete Grigsby 3     0 2 .000 1 2 .500 2         0 1
  School Totals 25     829 2162 .383 529 780 .678 1318         582 2187

 

Schedule and Results

G Date Type   Opponent Conf   Tm Opp OT W L Streak Arena
1 Sat, Dec 5, 1953 REG   Ind W 86 59   1 0 W 1 Memorial Coliseum
2 Sat, Dec 12, 1953 REG @ Xavier Ind W 81 66   2 0 W 2 Schmidt Fieldhouse
3 Mon, Dec 14, 1953 REG   ACC W 101 69   3 0 W 3 Memorial Coliseum
4 Fri, Dec 18, 1953 REG @ Saint Louis MVC W 71 59   4 0 W 4 Kiel Auditorium
5 Mon, Dec 21, 1953 REG   ACC W 85 69   5 0 W 5 Memorial Coliseum
6 Tue, Dec 22, 1953 REG   La Salle (16) Ind W 73 60   6 0 W 6 Memorial Coliseum
7 Mon, Dec 28, 1953 REG   Minnesota (6) Big Ten W 74 59   7 0 W 7 Memorial Coliseum
8 Mon, Jan 4, 1954 REG   Xavier Ind W 77 71   8 0 W 8 Memorial Coliseum
9 Sat, Jan 9, 1954 REG   SEC W 105 53   9 0 W 9 Memorial Coliseum
10 Mon, Jan 11, 1954 REG   Ind W 81 63   10 0 W 10 Memorial Coliseum
11 Sat, Jan 16, 1954 REG   Tulane SEC W 94 43   11 0 W 11 Memorial Coliseum
12 Sat, Jan 23, 1954 REG @ Tennessee SEC W 97 71   12 0 W 12 Alumni Memorial Gymnasium
13 Sat, Jan 30, 1954 REG @ Vanderbilt SEC W 85 63   13 0 W 13 Memorial Gymnasium
14 Tue, Feb 2, 1954 REG   Georgia Tech SEC W 99 48   14 0 W 14 Jefferson County Armory
15 Thu, Feb 4, 1954 REG   Georgia SEC W 106 55   15 0 W 15 Memorial Coliseum
16 Sat, Feb 6, 1954 REG   Georgia SEC W 100 68   16 0 W 16 Owensboro Sportscenter
17 Mon, Feb 8, 1954 REG @ Florida SEC W 97 55   17 0 W 17 Florida Gymnasium
18 Sat, Feb 13, 1954 REG   Mississippi SEC W 88 62   18 0 W 18 Memorial Coliseum
19 Mon, Feb 15, 1954 REG   SEC W 81 49   19 0 W 19 Memorial Coliseum
20 Thu, Feb 18, 1954 REG   Tennessee SEC W 90 63   20 0 W 20 Memorial Coliseum
21 Sat, Feb 20, 1954 REG @ Ind W 76 61   21 0 W 21 Chicago Stadium
22 Mon, Feb 22, 1954 REG   Vanderbilt SEC W 100 64   22 0 W 22 Memorial Coliseum
23 Sat, Feb 27, 1954 REG @ Auburn SEC W 109 79   23 0 W 23 Garrett Coliseum
24 Mon, Mar 1, 1954 REG @ SEC W 68 43   24 0 W 24 Foster Auditorium
25 Tue, Mar 9, 1954 CTOURN N Louisiana State (8) SEC W 63 56   25 0 W 25 Memorial Gymnasium