1955-1956 Kentucky Basketball Statistics

Record: 20-6 (12-2, 2nd in SEC)
Rank: 9th in the Final AP Poll
Coach: Adolph Rupp

NCAA Tournament:
Won Midwest Regional Semifinal (84-64) versus Wayne State (MI)
Lost Midwest Regional Final (89-77) versus Iowa

Team – Per Game

  G MP FG FGA FG% FT FTA FT% TRB AST STL BLK TOV PF PTS
Team 26   33.2 79.9 .415 18.2 28.0 .650 57.8         18.8 84.5
Opponent 26   24.2 67.3 .359 21.0 31.8 .659 42.1         21.1 69.3

 

Team – Totals

  G MP FG FGA FG% FT FTA FT% TRB AST STL BLK TOV PF PTS
Team 26   862 2078 .415 473 728 .650 1502         490 2197
Opponent 26   628 1750 .359 546 828 .659 1094         548 1802

 

Individual – Per Game

Rk Player G GS MP FG FGA FG% FT FTA FT% TRB AST STL BLK TOV PF PTS
1 Bob Burrow 25     8.3 18.5 .447 4.6 6.8 .667 14.6         2.6 21.1
2 Jerry Bird 26     6.7 15.5 .431 2.8 4.3 .652 11.3         2.2 16.2
3 Vernon Hatton 26     4.7 9.6 .494 3.8 5.8 .667 4.0         2.7 13.3
4 Gerry Calvert 26     4.2 10.6 .396 2.8 4.3 .646 4.2         3.0 11.2
5 Phil Grawemeyer 26     3.5 10.2 .346 1.3 1.9 .714 10.8         3.0 8.4
6 Ray Mills 23     1.5 3.9 .382 0.9 1.7 .553 4.4         1.3 3.9
7 Billy Ray Cassady 22     1.3 2.9 .438 1.0 1.1 .840 1.4         0.9 3.5
8 Phil Johnson 17     1.2 3.2 .389 0.6 1.1 .556 2.2         0.5 3.1
9 John Brewer 24     1.3 4.0 .313 0.3 0.5 .545 2.5         1.4 2.8
10 John Crigler 10     1.0 2.3 .435 0.5 0.9 .556 2.3         0.7 2.5
11 Ed Beck 22     0.7 2.0 .364 0.2 0.6 .357 3.0         0.9 1.7
12 Harold Ross 10     0.7 2.6 .269 0.3 0.5 .600 0.7         0.7 1.7
13 Bill Smith 11     0.6 1.5 .412 0.3 0.6 .429 1.2         0.6 1.5
14 Lincoln Collinsworth 11     0.4 0.7 .500 0.4 0.6 .571 0.3         1.0 1.1

 

Individual – Totals

Rk Player G GS MP FG FGA FG% FT FTA FT% TRB AST STL BLK TOV PF PTS
1 Bob Burrow 25     207 463 .447 114 171 .667 364         66 528
2 Jerry Bird 26     174 404 .431 73 112 .652 295         58 421
3 Vernon Hatton 26     123 249 .494 100 150 .667 103         69 346
4 Gerry Calvert 26     109 275 .396 73 113 .646 109         78 291
5 Phil Grawemeyer 26     92 266 .346 35 49 .714 281         77 219
6 Ray Mills 23     34 89 .382 21 38 .553 102         29 89
7 Billy Ray Cassady 22     28 64 .438 21 25 .840 30         19 77
8 John Brewer 24     30 96 .313 6 11 .545 61         33 66
9 Phil Johnson 17     21 54 .389 10 18 .556 38         9 52
10 Ed Beck 22     16 44 .364 5 14 .357 66         20 37
11 John Crigler 10     10 23 .435 5 9 .556 23         7 25
12 Harold Ross 10     7 26 .269 3 5 .600 7         7 17
13 Bill Smith 11     7 17 .412 3 7 .429 13         7 17
14 Lincoln Collinsworth 11     4 8 .500 4 7 .571 3         11 12
  School Totals 26     862 2078 .415 473 728 .650 1502         490 2197

 

Schedule and Results

G Date Type   Opponent Conf   Tm Opp OT W L Streak Arena
1 Sat, Dec 3, 1955 REG @ Louisiana State SEC W 62 52   1 0 W 1 John Parker Memorial Coliseum
2 Sat, Dec 10, 1955 REG   Temple Ind L 61 73   1 1 L 1 Memorial Coliseum
3 Mon, Dec 12, 1955 REG   Ind W 71 69   2 1 W 1 Memorial Coliseum
4 Thu, Dec 15, 1955 REG @ Maryland W 62 61   3 1 W 2 Cole Fieldhouse
5 Sat, Dec 17, 1955 REG   Idaho PCC W 91 49   4 1 W 3 Memorial Coliseum
6 Tue, Dec 20, 1955 REG   Minnesota Big Ten W 72 65   5 1 W 4 Memorial Coliseum
7 Wed, Dec 21, 1955 REG   Dayton (4) Ind L 74 89   5 2 L 1 Memorial Coliseum
8 Wed, Dec 28, 1955 REG @ Saint Louis MVC W 101 80   6 2 W 1 Kiel Auditorium
9 Sat, Jan 7, 1956 REG   Tech SEC W 104 51   7 2 W 2 Memorial Coliseum
10 Thu, Jan 12, 1956 REG   Tulane SEC W 85 63   8 2 W 3 Memorial Coliseum
11 Sat, Jan 14, 1956 REG   Louisiana State SEC W 107 65   9 2 W 4 Memorial Coliseum
12 Sat, Jan 21, 1956 REG @ Tennessee SEC W 95 68   10 2 W 5 Alumni Memorial Gymnasium
13 Sat, Jan 28, 1956 REG @  (7) SEC L 73 81   10 3 L 1 Memorial Gymnasium
14 Mon, Jan 30, 1956 REG @ Tech SEC W 84 62   11 3 W 1 Heisman Gymnasium
15 Wed, Feb 1, 1956 REG   Duke (10) W 81 76   12 3 W 2 Memorial Coliseum
16 Sat, Feb 4, 1956 REG @ Auburn SEC W 82 81   13 3 W 3 Garrett Coliseum
17 Mon, Feb 6, 1956 REG @ SEC W 81 70   14 3 W 4 Gymnasium
18 Sat, Feb 11, 1956 REG   Mississippi SEC W 88 49   15 3 W 5 Memorial Coliseum
19 Mon, Feb 13, 1956 REG   Mississippi State SEC W 86 65   16 3 W 6 Memorial Coliseum
20 Sat, Feb 18, 1956 REG @ DePaul Ind L 79 81   16 4 L 1 Chicago Stadium
21 Mon, Feb 20, 1956 REG    (5) SEC W 76 55   17 4 W 1 Memorial Coliseum
22 Sat, Feb 25, 1956 REG @ Alabama (7) SEC L 77 101   17 5 L 1 Garrett Coliseum
23 Mon, Feb 27, 1956 REG   SEC W 143 66   18 5 W 1 Jefferson County Armory
24 Sat, Mar 3, 1956 REG   Tennessee SEC W 101 77   19 5 W 2 Memorial Coliseum
25 Fri, Mar 16, 1956 NCAA N Wayne State (MI) Ind W 84 64   20 5 W 3 Iowa Field House
26 Sat, Mar 17, 1956 NCAA N Iowa (4) Big Ten L 77 89   20 6 L 1 Iowa Field House